Heating Season #14 – Daimler Mk I

CheesyCar2

Instead of boring you with the details of why it took me so long to post photos of new miniatures and explaining how I feel ashamed with such prolific, excellent co-bloggers… Here is a picture of a Daimler Mk I in a cheese pic complete with lens flare and dust effects.

During the last Tactica Convention in Hamburg I picked this nice little vehicle up from the Warlord Games stand not really knowing what to do with it. Of my two colleagues, I am probably the one putting the least research into his armies, so I wasn’t sure if I could use it for my Perry Brits. It seems I can… Well, I did anyway.

This, by the way, is a first for me; I’ve never painted a military vehicle before so I had tons of fun weathering and playing around with interesting tutorials on the web and good advice from my fellow mountaineers. Detailing was kept to a minimum with some Jerrycans added to the back, after being inspired by a picture on Wikimedia and reading that the German containers were preferred to the British variant for quite some time during the North African campaign. I am sure the WW2 buffs among you know a lot more about this. I would also be quite interested to get comments from you guys; be it from a historical accuracy standpoint to more tips and tricks for painting vehicles.

The Daimler comes with a very good looking Armoured Car crewman, but I decided to use a Perry miniature instead from their excellent WW8 Tank Crew pack. It fits suprisingly well if one considers the (assumed or over-dramatised?) size difference between the Perry Brits and other WW2 ranges.

Here are also the two markers you can see in the cheesy picture above and which I started when the Lieutenant and Sire were here on visit. One of them was actually started by Sire Godefroy before I had the honour of finishing it up! Thanks, bub! The location Bardia was picked because I painted the number 70 first and didn’t have enough space for anything else. 🙂 I am telling you… I need a break and re-arrange my grey cells. Nonetheless I hope you’ve enjoyed this post.

8 thoughts on “Heating Season #14 – Daimler Mk I

  1. Dimi that is a nice armoured car! It even looks better in Reality. Well done!
    Cheers
    Jan

    • Thank you, buddy. Glad you like it even if it kicked your butt last time it met your Italians. 😉

  2. I don’t know about you wanting tips and tricks on painting vehicles from us, going by the superb job you have done on this, I think it is us wanting tips and tricks from you.
    Cheers,
    Pat.

    • Thank you for your very kind words, Pat. Obviously that makes me very happy but I am sure there’s still a lot to learn. 🙂

  3. Wow this is very very nice! I’ve been a fan of your painting style (crisp and clean with great color choice) ever since I first stumbled upon pictures of your minis! I really like the driver’s skin and shirt as well as the weathering on the vehicle! Awesome and very inspiring!

    Cheers,
    Marc

    jomada-adventures.blogspot.de

  4. Hey Marc, thank you very much for your extremely kind words.
    I must say… Your blog looks amazing! Consider yourselves followed!

  5. Excellent work, especially considering it beeing your first ever vehicle. I really like you haven’t over done the weathering part as one (and especially me) gets often carried away. awesome work on the skintones btw.

Post a comment

