Incursio Barbarica: Lanciarii Gallicani Honoriani

IBGallicani

Here it is, the last unit of Romans for our participation game at Hamburger Tactica 2014. I’ve chosen the standing Musketeer Romans, because I liked them from the start. I bought all three available packs. I converted the unarmoured soldiers without helmets into civilians, the others are on the pic above. The shields are LBM decals, representing the Lanciarii Gallicani Honoriani, a Comitatenses unit. So I have an elite cavalry unit, a unit of border guards and the Gallicani from the mobile field army. A nice mix for the scenario we’ve planned.

Now I have only three more models to paint, then both armies will be complete. But I have to build some scenery and eventually a terrain board, so the next three weeks will be busy, I think…

7 thoughts on “Incursio Barbarica: Lanciarii Gallicani Honoriani

  1. Excellent paintjob. The shields look stunning and I assume you slightly enhanced the look by adding cuts and weathering? The metal parts look very convincing and the faces turned out very natural. What colours did you use for the green? I like that it is a ‘white’ green and not too stark.

    • Yep, I added dirt and cuts. For the green I used Olive (VMC) and GWs Waagh flesh and Loren Green, adding Ivory for the highlights. That gives a “cold green” as you already noted 😉

Post a comment

