Intermitting Infinity

The massive WW2 influx on this blog isn’t expected to weaken soon. But before going on with it, it’s possibly time for a little thematic relief.
Earlier this year I painted a group of Infinity models for personal use. Actually, they were also done in preparation of a commission I had agreed upon, namely a starter force for the PanOceania faction. (All images are clickable.)

Knight of Montesa

Knight of Montesa

While I rambled about “downgrading” my painting for the WW2 stuff, a few people wondered what, in turn, my “best possible standard” would look like. Well, here it is! No Giráldez, for sure…

Bagh Mari

Bagh Mari

In hindsight there’s not much of a visual difference to my “rushed” jobs. Though I honestly tried my hand on wet-blending, advanced shading, light effects and other such techniques – at least as far as I could manage it. Colour choice was less an issue since I was asked to stick with the original colour scheme. Of course, some slight variation was allowed (e.g. the knight’s white helmet or the reddish lenses), and the free-hands (shoulder pads, surcoat) added some interest, too.

Akalis Sikh

Akalis Sikh

In the end, I just aimed for a neat & tidy appearance because that’s what I think the particular Infinity look is all about. That wouldn’t be possible, of course, if these models weren’t really at the high end of sculpting as well as casting quality. In this regard, even an average paintjob pays off great deal.

Acontecimento Regulars

Acontecimento Regulars

Assembly, however, was a pain. Perhaps that’s a price to be paid for all those tiny details and dynamic poses. But having to pin the spindle-legged models to the bases (resin ones, provided by the customer) didn’t ease the challenge, anyway. I really have to upgrade my toolbox!

PanO04b

After all, I enjoyed painting these miniatures a lot. The Acontecimento (who’s come up with such a tongue-twister?) models are very nice, and I wouldn’t mind painting them for myself. In the meantime, however, I’ve laid my hands on another set – let’s see how fast I can pull this off… 😉

Miniatures by Corvus Belli.

6 thoughts on “Intermitting Infinity

  1. Very nice. Like those hand painted insignia in the shoulder pads, you must have a very steady hand. Like the metallics, especially on the knife blades.

    • Re a steady hand: Actually, no. 😉 There are just a few “tricks” I’ve learnt over the years (yes, it did take me that long), e.g. mounting figures on bottle caps to ease handling, resting both arms on the tabletop or holding your breath while setting a delicate stroke. With such things in mind freehands become much easier.

Post a comment

