Heating Season #3

Italians? That’s me! I wanted to field the most flamboyant looking unit, so I decided to field a platoon of Bersaglieri, because they attached cockerell feather plumes to the helmets.

Italian platoons were made of 2 squads of 20 men. Each squad had 2 Breda light machine gun groups of a corporal gunner, assistant gunner and 2 ammuntion bearers. Those were commanded by a sergeant, and the rest were riflemen. This information is from the Perry Miniatures Website, I am not sure if the Beraglieri used the same pattern. For the start it gives me an idea how many troops I will roughly need.

The painting was done fast and dirty, VMC Desert Yellow undercoat, a wash and one or two highlights. I managed to paint six Bersaglieri in 4 hours, that is very fast for me. As talk is  cheap, here are the pics (I took seperate pics, ’cause the prone ones were always out of focus at first).

ITB1 ITB2

7 thoughts on “Heating Season #3

  1. Very fine indeed. Can I ask about the Bersaglieri helmets – did you make the cockerel feathers yourself out of green stuff? I looked on the Perry website and all their Italians seemed to be plain helmeted.

    • Hi Sidney!
      You are right about the helmets. I made the cockerel feathers using grey stuff. I rolled some “sausages”, cut to the desiered length and glued it to the helmets. Very fast and easy.

Post a comment

